TOW THE LINE

I am a firm believer that one of the elements of a life centered with faith is courage. Courage comes from having faith in God even when all evidence around us says we are alone and all is lost. Whenever I face a problem or situation that requires faith and courage, I remind myself to simply face squarely with the issue and “tow the line.” Rather than sit around and complain, worry and take on the victim attitude, I utilize the acronym “T-O-W” to get through.

T-rust
O-bey
W-orship

TRUST– We must trust even when everything around us is crumbling, I cannot cave in to a negative attitude. I must trust God no matter what. I keep on trusting through every circumstance of life.Proverbs 3:5 reminds us to simply, “Trust the Lord with all your heart.” No matter what, trust God.

OBEY– When things do not go according to our plans, we often choose to take control of things and basically tell God, “take Your hands off. I’ll handle this.” When we reach the point we feel God is not in control, we must not bend to taking control, but rather obey God by following where He leads.
Several years ago, I moved my family 1600 miles to take a new job. Shortly after moving, the position fell apart and we ended up having to leave the job. Even though I felt like cursing God, we obeyed His leading through it all.. We lost nearly everything. We had nothing left. Too say that I questioned God is putting it mildly. It just didn’t make any sense why God would put my family through all of that. But now that I look back on the incident, I realize that if we had never moved I would have never connected with a specific person that was able to get me in the job I am at today.  I’ve now been in this position 18 years and it all is because our family chose to obey God even when things didn’t make sense.

WORSHIP– Even when the storms of life are raging all around us, it is important to continue to praise and worship God through it all. The lyrics of a song by Hillsong remind us that even when life hurts like hell, we must still continue to worship and praise God as loudly as we can.

If you are facing a difficult valley in your life and you feel like throwing in the towel, just TOW the line anyway. Trust, Obey and Worship God through it all.

Leave a Reply

